Future For Nature Foundation

The Board of the Future For Nature Foundation is supported by an executive office in its day-to-day work. The Foundation also has an International Selection Committee, a Board of Recommendation, a worldwide network of 500 young nature conservationists and about 100 Friends of Future For Nature. Burgers’ Zoo and the Gieskes Strijbis Fonds are the most important sponsors/financiers.


Besides its general management duties, the Board is responsible for all the Foundation’s activities. The Board nominates the members of the International Selection Committee, verifies the Award selection process and oversees the Award event. The Board consists of the following members: Alex van Hooff (chair), Dr Claudius van de Vijver (treasurer), Ed Stibbe and Willem Ferwerda (secretary).

International Selection Committee

The International Selection Committee consists of internationally renowned nature conservationists. The Committee selects candidates for the Future for Nature Award and proposes winners to the Board. The Committee members are: Saba Douglas-Hamilton (chair, Kenya), Dr Simon Stuart (England), Dr Masja Vorontsova (Russia), Dr John MacKinnon (China/England), Annette Lanjouw (Netherlands/England), Vivek Menon (India), Dr Brian Huntley (South Africa) and Dr Patricia Medici (Brazil).

Board of Recommendation

The Future For Nature Foundation has established a Board of Recommendation, consisting of:
•    Drs Karla Peijs, former member of the European Parliament and former Minister and Queen’s Commissioner;
•    Dr Nout Wellink, former president of the Nederlandsche Bank;
•    Drs Hemmo Muntingh, nature conservationist and former member of the European Parliament and the Board of the Future for Nature Foundation.
•    Professor Laurens Jan Brinkhorst, former member of the European Parliament and former diplomat, State Secretary, Minister and chairman of the parliamentary party D66.
•    Dr Frans de Waal, biologist and primatologist, well-known for his research on the behaviour of apes, was recently appointed to the Board.
•    Dr Laman Trip, former Chairman of the Board of ING Netherlands. Chair of the Board of Microfinance and chair of the ANWB (Royal Dutch Tourist Bond).
•    Dr Jane Goodall, one of the topmost influential women in the world. She lived among chimpanzees for several decades and travels on average 300 days each year to give lectures all over the world.
•    Dr Iain Douglas-Hamilton, who launched his study of the African elephant in the 1970s and has meanwhile grown into a world authority in this field. Dr Iain Douglas-Hamilton was one of the first individuals to alert the world to the huge increase in illegal elephant hunting and poaching for ivory.

Executive office

The executive office is responsible for organizing the application process, providing administrative support to the Selection Committee, organizing the Award ceremony, carrying out public relations and communication activities, fundraising, supporting the learning network and educational activities, and setting up and administering partnerships. Ingrid Kerkvliet is the executive coordinator.


Future For Nature is a member of GlobeGuards, an alliance of small, internationally oriented nature conservation organisations.