Guest of Honour: King Willem-Alexander

March 23, 2017

King to attend Future For Nature Awards anniversary

On 31 March 2017, the Future For Nature Awards will be presented at Royal Burgers’ Zoo in Arnhem. This ten-year anniversary edition of the ceremony will be attended by His Majesty the King. This year’s winners are Hana Ridha from Iraq, Shahriar Caesar Rahman from Bangladesh and Farwiza Farhan from Indonesia.

Each year, the Future For Nature Foundation supports three young, talented conservationists with a prize of 50,000 euros each. The prize money goes to winners who will make the difference for the future of nature. For these dedicated laureates, winning the prize often signifies their international breakthrough.

Guest of Honour: King Willem-Alexander

His Majesty the King will be our Guest of Honour at the ceremony and will be in attendance when the 2017 winners each present their work and receive the prize. In its ten-year history, the Future For Nature Foundation has boasted an impressive list of Guests of Honour, including Sir David Attenborough, Jane Goodall, and Frans de Waal.


For the Future For Nature Foundation, 2017 is a festive year as it is celebrating its ten-year anniversary. On the occasion of this anniversary, virtually all former Award winners will unite for the first time to attend the Award Ceremony. Together with this year’s winners, they will be laying the foundation for the Future For Nature Community, which will enable them in the future to benefit from each other’s experiences and join forces to achieve their ambition to protect nature.


The main sponsors of the Future For Nature Foundation are the Dutch Postcode Lottery, Africa’s Eden, and Royal Burgers’ Zoo. The Zoo supports various international conservation projects worldwide.


The individuals mentioned in this press release will all be present in the Netherlands from 28 until 31 March 2017 and will be available for interviews. So will BBC presenter Saba Douglas-Hamilton, who will host the show. If you would like to receive more information about the Future For Nature Foundation or the winners, or would like to interview one of the individuals mentioned above, please contact:

Eline Maarse, Future For Nature press officer

+31 (0)6 18 803 650 |